09/22/2023 11:44:32 AM
  • logo

Platinum Queen's Beasts

  • Price - Low to High
  • Popularity
  • Recently Added
  • Price - Low to High
  • Price - High to Low
  • Weight Ascending
  • Weight Descending

The British Royal Mint introduced their Queen's Beasts series in 2016, celebrating the rich history and tradition of the British monarchy.

The 10-design series has proven to be popular with bullion collectors from around the globe. Starting with silver and gold versions of the coins, the series has now expanded to include 1 oz platinum coins as well.

The Designs of Queen's Beasts

The ten designs in the Queen's Beasts series pay homage to the ten statues that stood guard during the Queen's coronation ceremony in 1953. Sculpted by James Woodford RA, each six-foot statue captured a beast that had ties to branches of the royal family's heritage.

Designs in this series include:

  • The Lion of England
  • The Griffin of Edward III
  • The Red Dragon of Wales
  • The Unicorn of Scotland
  • The Black Bull of Clarence
  • The Falcon of the Plantagenets
  • The Yale of Beaufort
  • The White Lion of Mortimer
  • The White Horse of Hanover
  • The White Greyhound of Richmond

Symbolizing the Queen's ancestry, these 10 statues once lined the entrance to Westminster Abbey. Today, stone replicas stand watch in Kew Gardens in the United Kingdom.

History and Monarchy

Like all coinage produced by the Royal Mint, the obverse of the Queen's Beasts coins feature a portrait of Queen Elizabeth II. In fact, this is the fifth portrait of Her Majesty to grace British coinage during her historically long reign.

The monarchy is deeply rooted in British history, tradition, and culture. So too is the Royal Mint, with historical records dating back over 1,000 years.

As one of the world's oldest sovereign mints, the Royal Mint is known for producing high quality bullion products. You might also enjoy the mint's flagship series–the Silver Britannia series.