10/02/2023 05:46:08 PM
  • logo

Lunar Series

  • Price - Low to High
  • Popularity
  • Recently Added
  • Price - Low to High
  • Price - High to Low
  • Weight Ascending
  • Weight Descending

The Royal Canadian Mint brings the Chinese Zodiac to life with the Fine Silver Lunar Series, celebrating the 12 year lunar calendar. Each year is represented by 12 distinct animals. The RCM will release one coin, annually, from 2010-2021. Each coin is dedicated to the animal of that year, and the design captures the essence of the traits each animal possesses.

The 12 year cycle, along with the saying attributed to it, is as follows:

  • 2010- Tiger: “Valor without caution leads to recklessness.”
  • 2011- Rabbit: “Caution without valor leads to cowardice.”
  • 2012- Dragon- “Strength without flexibility leads to fracture.”
  • 2013- Snake- “Flexibility without strength leads to compromise.”
  • 2014- Horse- “Forging ahead without unity leads to abandonment.”
  • 2015- Sheep- “Unity without forging ahead leads to stagnation.”
  • 2016- Monkey- “Changeability without being constant leads to foolishness.”
  • 2017- Rooster- “Being constant without changeability leads to woodenness.”
  • 2018- Dog- “Fidelity without amiability leads to rejection.”
  • 2019- Pig- ” Amiability without fidelity leads to immorality.”
  • 2020- Rat- “Wisdom without industriousness leads to triviality.”
  • 2021- Ox- “Industriousness without wisdom leads to futility.”

Each round in the series is composed of 1 oz .9999 Fine Silver and holds a face value of $15. The obverse features the effigy of the current and longest reigning monarch- Queen Elizabeth II. The reverse features the animal of the year, along with the inscription, “CANADA 15,” at the top and “15 DOLLARS” at the bottom.

Start your collection of uniquely designed silver bullion with the RCM Lunar Series, today!